In Buddhism, there is this concept called "kammapatha." I think of it as a sort of Cliff's Notes to checking my intentions and behaving in a way that minimizes suffering. As a sort of short-hand, it's a set of 10 precepts, or things to avoid, lumped into three categories. A gentle nudge and reminder that behaving with intention is a way to water the seeds of kindness and reduce the suffering of ourselves and others.

three of the body.

  1. destroying life.
  2. taking what is not given.
  3. chasing sensory pleasures.

four of speech.

  1. false speech.
  2. slanderous speech.
  3. harsh speech.
  4. idle chatter.

three of the mind.

  1. covetousness.
  2. ill will.
  3. wrong view.